Skip to content

so, tell us how do you really feel about recommendation

April 15, 2010
tags: ,

I’m feeling really tightly wound right now, mostly because of work, but I’m also staring down the barrel of these two skills tests, which are getting complicated for a lot of scheduling-type annoyances. Stress. Stress.

And then I think of Michael “MJ” Johnson, who recently visited my singlesword class just for ducks and gave us a little SPT advice: “Fuck recommendation.”

Quick recap: when you take a Society of American Fight Directors skills proficiency test (SPT), you can fail, you can get a basic pass, or you can pass with recommendation.* As I have observed, it’s a hell of a nice pat on the back to “rec,” but MJ’s point was that people try for the rec, rather than trying to put on the best possible fight and scene. There’s nothing you can do about rec’ing but fret; if you’re thinking about the performance, it’s about you and what you’re doing, not whether the adjudicator has a pet peeve.  And you know what? You have to renew in three years anyway. That rec could become a basic, that basic could become a rec, and the Wheel of Time turns, and Ages come and pass…

MJ is right. Not that I’m not going to work and concentrate over the next week, both for my sake and for my partners’, but these two tests aren’t the end of the world.**

___________________________

*Yes, I know that list wasn’t parallel; anyone know the verb for a basic pass?

**That would be Tarmon Gai’don.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. December 14, 2012 5:57 pm

    Thanks for the reminder! I’m going in for my first SAFD test next week and while I’m tempted to kill for a recommendation, just passing is nice. 🙂

    • December 26, 2012 6:14 pm

      I hope your test went well, which is to say, you are happy with the work you and your partner did and you feel a sense of accomplishment with a new weapon. 🙂

Leave a Reply

