Skip to content

B.H. Barry in the New York Times

February 28, 2011

Legendary fight director B.H. Barry was featured in the New York Times on Saturday with the best headline ever: “Battle-Honed Commander Unleashes Pirates.” The article focuses on his production of Treasure Island, now in previews in Brooklyn. There are lots of cool tidbits, but I especially love that Barry solicits ideas from everyone and says “Try it!”; collaboration is one of my favorite parts of working on a show.

Also, I had no idea that Barry had written books of fight choreography!

(Via Ken Schatz, musical director of Treasure Island and shantyman extraordinaire, who once kicked me in the face.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. February 28, 2011 10:44 am

    They’re doing Treasure Island?!

    When can I get tickets!

    • March 1, 2011 3:08 am

      I’m trying to get a group together to go in mid-March, while my brother is in town. You guys should come up!

  2. March 12, 2011 5:54 am

    I love things like this. One day I will be him.

Leave a Reply

