Skip to content

Home, Sweet Armory

December 16, 2013

pegboardswordAfter a couple of years touring with Fight Theatre, my weapons are back home, and I feel so warm and fuzzy inside that I have to write about it.

The swords we use in stage combat are stand-ins; we call them weapons and and aim them at each other with a certain intensity, but I’d like to take this moment to recognize the stage combat sword as a glorious toy.  When I pick one up, I know I’m about to do something fun, physical, and creative, probably with someone really cool and a little twisted. Sometimes I’m part of a big, collaborative effort, assembled over months and leading up to an opening night; sometimes I’m fooling around in the backyard because it’s nice out.

I’ve been so fortunate to have stage combat in my life. Seeing my swords on the wall is like seeing a picture of my friends and teachers, playbills from my shows, and a little “You Worked Hard At Something!” ribbon all at once. The blunt metal sticks I have, and not their lethal antecedents, are the swords that make me happy.

And then my roommates get into the spirit…

googly sword

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

